Iron Maiden announce THE BOOK OF SOULS


Iron Maiden have just announced the title, album artwork and track listing for their 16th studio album, The Book Of Souls.

The long-awaited new Iron Maiden studio album The Book Of Souls will see worldwide release on September 4, having been recorded in late 2014 in Paris.

Judging by the sheer length of the album, we’re in for one mother of an epic record. The album includes Iron Maiden’s longest song to date, “Empire Of The Clouds”, an 18 minute album closer written solely by Bruce Dickinson. There is also quite a few numbers that clock in around the 5 minute mark, which might hint that there will be some fast paced songs among the big epics.

Maiden will release “Speed Of Light” as the first single off the album in August, a song that was co-written by Dickinson and Adrian Smith.

Here is the full press release about the album, from the official site:

IRON MAIDEN’s eagerly awaited new studio album The Book Of Souls will be released globally on 4th September through Parlophone Records (Sanctuary Copyrights/BMG in the U.S.A.). It was recorded in Paris with their longstanding producer Kevin “Caveman” Shirley in late 2014, with the finishing touches added earlier this year. However, the band decided to delay its release so that vocalist Bruce Dickinson, who was recently given the all-clear from a tumour, would have time to recuperate sufficiently to join in the preparations for the album’s launch.

The stunning cover art was created by Mark Wilkinson, who has worked with the band previously, and because this 11-track album has a total running time of 92 minutes, it is IRON MAIDEN’s first ever double studio album. There’s a broader split on the songwriting compared to previous Maiden records, with bassist and founder member Steve Harris contributing to seven of the tracks; 6 of them with Maiden’s guitarists and one sole composition. This is also the first time since 1984’s Powerslave that an IRON MAIDEN studio album also features two tracks written solely by Bruce Dickinson, one of which is the longest song Maiden has ever recorded! And also two Dickinson/Smith collaborations.

Steve comments,

We approached this album in a different way to how we’ve recorded previously. A lot of the songs were actually written while we were there in the studio and we rehearsed and recorded them straight away while they were still fresh, and I think that immediacy really shows in the songs, they have almost a live feel to them, I think. I’m very proud of The Book Of Souls, we all are, and we can’t wait for our fans to hear it, and especially to take it out on the road next year!

Bruce continues,

We’re really excited about The Book Of Souls and had a fantastic time creating it. We started working on the album in late summer 2014 and recorded it at Guillame Tell Studios in Paris, where we’d done the Brave New World album back in 2000 so the studio holds special memories for all of us. We were delighted to discover the same magical vibe is still alive and very much kicking there! So we immediately felt at home and the ideas just started flowing. By the time we’d finished we all agreed that each track was such an integral part of the whole body of work that if it needed to be a double album, then double its going to be!

The full tracklisting is:

Disc 1
1. If Eternity Should Fail (Dickinson) 8:28
2. Speed Of Light (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:01
3. The Great Unknown (Smith/ Harris) 6:37
4. The Red And The Black (Harris) 13:33
5. When The River Runs Deep (Smith/ Harris) 5:52
6. The Book Of Souls (Gers/ Harris) 10:27

Disc 2
7. Death Or Glory (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:13
8. Shadows Of The Valley (Gers/ Harris) 7:32
9. Tears Of A Clown (Smith/ Harris) 4:59
10. The Man Of Sorrows (Murray/ Harris) 6:28
11. Empire Of The Clouds (Dickinson) 18:01

2CD deluxe hardbound book limited edition
2CD standard edition
Triple heavyweight black vinyl
High res audio (24-bit Mastered for ITunes and non-Mastered for iTunes)
Standard res audio (16 bit/ 44.1 kHz)

The Book Of Souls is the band’s 16th studio album since their eponymous debut in 1980 charted at #4 in the UK, in a career achieving sales of over 90 million albums worldwide. Their previous album, 2010’s The Final Frontier  was Maiden’s most successful chart-wise to date, reaching Number One in 28 countries and was their highest chart debut in the U.S reaching #4 in the Billboard 200.

Due to Bruce’s illness the band had to delay touring plans but promise to be out on the road again early next year, giving time for Bruce to make a full physical recovery to be ready for the rigours of Maiden live performances.


17 thoughts on “Iron Maiden announce THE BOOK OF SOULS

  1. Already set up my email notification on Amazon so I can pre-order ASAP. Oh, September’s gonna be good!

  2. I cannot wait!!! Having 2 songs penned by Bruce and 2 Smith/Dickinson tracks on the same album was not something I was expecting.

    • Indeed, isn’t that something? Particularly solo Dickinson credits is out of the blue. But then, he does fly airplanes. 🙂

      • It’s amazing. The man’s in his mid 50s and yet he’s not taking his foot off the gas at all. Writing an 18 minute song? Dear me, he just had cancer! Granted, he wrote it before they discovered that, but still! Gotta love it. Just about much every 8+ minute song by Maiden is awesome, so I have no reason to think this one won’t be.

  3. What a way to start the day!!!
    I’m as thrilled and eager to get this record as all of you guys.
    Most important is that Maiden is alive & kicking.
    This is another chapter for the band, but for us fans as well.
    Cheers for the 16th album “The Book of Souls” and for Bruce’s full recovery.
    Have a wonderful day all of you 🙂

  4. Wow lots of Smith and Dickinson mixed with Harris of course. Really nice artwork, very expressful Eddie. Can’t wait. When does the single come out?

  5. Pingback: FEATURE FRIDAY: Looking forward to opening THE BOOK OF SOULS | maidenrevelations

  6. 3 things I want to say

    1. Eddie is back to normal (after being a beast in Final Frontier)

    2. I have a strange feeling that ‘Speed Of Light’ is a Trooper or Deja Vu type of song.

    3. The setlist, the way its put together is the same as The Final Frontier ( Meaning shorter to mid range songs first the longer ones)

    Also I bet Harris won’t like the Red and The Black. It’ll be like Infinte Dreams all over again.

  7. Pingback: Dickinson talks cancer battle and getting back to business | maidenrevelations

  8. Pingback: Here is SPEED OF LIGHT | maidenrevelations

Leave a Reply to Andy Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s